Is Nigeria a commonwealth country?

Is Nigeria one of the Commonwealth's countries? In what international organizations Nigeria is included? The answers to these questions are in this article.

is nigeria a commonwealth country

Before answering the question ‘is Nigeria a commonwealth country?’ let’s discuss some info about this state. Nigeria, which is otherwise known as the Federal Republic of Nigeria is a country in West Africa. It is bordered on the west with Benin, on the north – with Niger, on the northeast – with Chad, on the east – with Cameroon. An area has nearly 1 million square kilometers. Nigeria has the largest number of state among the African people. It takes only 14th place on the continent by area. The country's capital is called Abuja.

In 2014, Nigeria was the leading oil producer in Africa; it has become Africa's largest economy, ahead of South Africa in terms of GDP.


October 1, 1960, Nigeria became an independent state. The first government of independent Nigeria was based on a coalition of parties. After the proclamation the Nigeria as a republic in 1963, Nnamdi Azikiwe became a president. The opposition was represented by a group action. Regional governments were led by other leaders. In 1963, on the territory of the eastern part of Western Nigeria the fourth region, the Midwest, was formed. The ruling party won in elections held in 1964 in the region.

In January 1966, a group of Igbo officers made a military coup. The short period of the "first republic of Biafra" was ended. The military tried to establish a unitary state in Nigeria, divided at provinces. North Muslims felt the coup threat to their interests, and the nationwide inter-ethnic clashes erupted. In late July, military units, consisting of soldiers-northerners, made a new military coup. The Head of State became Lieutenant Colonel (later General) Yakubu Gowon. In the north, the Igbo renewed persecution; thousands of people were killed. Their attempts to create a state of Biafra and the civil war had consequences. The country returned to a federal system afterward.

commonwealth country

READ ALSO: Who is the first military head of state in Nigeria?

Foreign policy

On October 7, 1960, Nigeria was admitted to the Commonwealth and has since been a member of the Economic Commission for Africa and almost all non-regional specialized agencies. It is also a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, the Group of 77, the African Union, the World Trade Organization. Since June 1971, Nigeria is a member of OPEC. Commonwealth country Nigeria is also a member of several regional organizations: the Committee on the Niger Basin Commission and the Lake Chad Basin. It is a part of an international organization of countries. Nigeria is an important member of the African Union.

For the period from 1995 to 1999, Nigeria was leaving the Commonwealth community. Despite the fact that Nigeria spent most of its existence in the community, the country was separated for four years. The big scandal served as a prerequisite for the exclusion of Nigeria. It was associated with the protection of minority rights. Nine people were executed.

Secretary-General of the British Commonwealth of Nations announced that a three-year estrangement from Nigeria's membership in this organization would be lifted on May 29. The agreement reached on this Heads of Government of the Commonwealth member states, reported BBC. It was May 29; the military government of Nigeria formally handed over power to the newly elected president. A restoration of Nigeria Commonwealth member right has been recommended by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the CIS countries in April. Nigeria was suspended from participation in the affairs of the Commonwealth in 1995 after the execution of nine minority rights activists, among them was the writer Ken Saro-Wiwa.

commonwealth country list

Commonwealth of Nations

Which countries are parts of the community of nations? The answer to this question is documented in the annals of history. At the moment, as community members, there are more than 50 countries. The Commonwealth is a voluntary interstate association of sovereign states, which includes the United Kingdom and almost all:

  • former dominions,
  • colony,
  • protectorates.

In addition, commonwealth country list includes:

  • Mozambique,
  • Rwanda,
  • Namibia,
  • Cameroon.

With the growth of the Commonwealth of Britain and the dominions that existed before 1945 (known as "dominion" came out of official use in the 1940s) became informally known as ‘Old Commonwealth’. Especially since the 1960s, when the disagreement started between some of them and less wealthy members of the Commonwealth of the number of newly independent states in Africa and Asia. These differences have led to accusations of Old, "White" Commonwealth, which interests differ from the interests of the African members. Charges of racism and colonialism arose in the course of fierce debates on Southern Rhodesia in 1970, imposing sanctions on South Africa in the 1980s. Closer to our days, on the need to promote democratic reforms there is Nigeria and then Zimbabwe. In particular, the president of Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe, often uses the expression "white Commonwealth", stating that the Commonwealth attempts to get the political changes in the country are in fact manifestations of racism and colonialism from the White Commonwealth, which dominates the Commonwealth itself.

Commonwealth country meaning still consists of support. Commonwealth countries and their capitals support each other through regular diplomatic relations with the help of High Commissioners (ambassadors).

Your comment
Add image

By posting your comment, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.