«Home

Why Did The Referee Cancel Stoichkov 'freekick'goal Nigeria Vs Bulgaria Usa 94?

I watched Stoichkov's goal in the USA 94 first group match NIGERIA VS BULGARIA,though we won by 3 goals to nil,i am still bewildered as to why the referee disallowed an all but important First half goal by bulgaria legend,hristo stoichkov.In the match he was awarded a free kick and he scored a beautiful goal,if the referee had allowed that goal ,we might not have had that famous victory(or maybe not).

People have come up with all manner of answers and it centered on direct or indirect free kick,i feel the ref had an axe to grind against bulgaria because if no answer to this question exists ,i will be forced to believe that the ref awarded us that match,or fifa played politics.I have watched free kicks being scored by CR7,JAYJAY, PAUL GASCOIGNE,THIERRY HENRY etc,though it was placed at opposite end of the field. Recall okochas goal against west ham?the free kick was similar except that why one was towards the left side of the field ,the former had his ball placed to the right side,and since the distance to goal was almost similar ,i reckon that okocha' goal shouldn't have been allowed because hristo scored a similar goal which the ref immediately disallowed.(without battling an eye lid)

If no answer exists,i will be left with no option other than to halt any form of hype to the SE squad.

Avatar
Newbie
7 answers

The referee said it's an indirect free kick while stotchkov disobeyd himand played it direct into the net that's the reason the referee had to disallow the goal .

0
Avatar
Newbie

Another twist is, I think (not sure) if a player decides to shoot an indirect kick like stoichkov did and he is lucky to have the ball hit any other player(even the opponent) before entrying the net, then it can be counted for a legitimate goal.

In stoichkov's case Rufai somehow got a finger on the ball, hence the goal should have counted.

Anyhow the way wey our boys dey para that day, we for still beat them.

0
Avatar
Newbie

Yeah I remember it was disallowed and I was so elated even though I could not fathom the rational behind

the disqualification but who gives a damn when the decision was to my advantage lol.

0
Avatar
Newbie

The referee clearly gave an INDIRECT freekick, referees do that when they raise their arm up.

Stoichkov's stupidity got the better of him and he took it directly = DISALLOWED GOAL.

0
Avatar
Newbie

I think someone said it was meant to be an indirect kick, but stoichkov took it directly. Why it had to be an indirect kick beats my imagination though.

0
Avatar
Newbie

still a mystery to me. we wont have won that game had that goal been awarded. Bulgaria eventually won third place.

0
Avatar
Newbie
Your answer
Add image

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.